Essex County Freeholders Honor the Bloomfield High School Girls Basketball Team for Winning the 2019 NJSIAA North 1, Group 4 State Championship

Essex County Freeholder President Brendan Gill(front row –right),District 5 Freeholder Carlos Pomares (behind Pres. Gill), and District 1 Freeholder Robert Mercado(far right)present the Board’s Commendation to the BloomfieldHigh School Girls BasketballTeam.PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESO

(Bloomfield, NJ) –During its Wednesday, April 10, 2019,meeting at Bloomfield Town Hall the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders honored the BloomfieldHigh School Girls Basketball Team for winning the 2019NJSIAA North 1, Group 4State Championship.

The Commendation was sponsored and presented by District 5 Freeholder Carlos Pomares of Bloomfield,along with Freeholder President Brendan Gill of Montclair. Freeholder Pomares shared how proud he and the Board were of the team for successfully completing the season,and bringing the championship Bloomfield.

CoachZac Dearwater accepted the Commendation on behalf of the teamand thanked the Freeholders for their support.Senior Captain Sarah Edmond also spoke before the crowd of supporters and thanked her teammates, her coach, and the Freeholders for the honor of being recognized in their hometown.

The Bloomfield High School Basketball Team won the 2019 NJSIAA North 1, Group 4State Championship after defeating Kearny High School (50-36) in the first round and Livingston High School (46-42) in the 2nd round. In the semifinals they defeated East Orange High School (33-30) and in the finals they defeated Morristown High School (43-38) to win the state championship. They finished the season with a final record of 19-8.

The team also had players who were recognized for their great individualseasons. Sarah Edmond and Samantha Columnawere named to the All-Conference Honors Liberty Division 1stteam. Chiara Hilariowas named to the 2ndteam, and Camrynn Referente and Lucy Heymanwere honorable mention. Samantha Columnaalso made the All-Group 4 3rd Team.

The team is comprised of the following members: Seniors:Camrynn Referente, Sarah Edmond, Lara Rios, Kaitlynn Martinez; Juniors:Samantha Columna, Gina Perrotta, Mia Lopez; Sophomores:Asiyah Edmond, Hannah, Casey Dolan, Melina Hidalgo; and Freshmen:Ashley Martinez, Chiara Hilario, Lucy Heyman, and Aliyah Sanchez.

The team was coached by Head Coach Zac Dearwater, Assistant Coaches Nicole Pacicco, Robert Finlay and Casey Newman. During the team’s successful year, Coach Dearwater was named the Sideline Chatter Essex County Girls Coach of the Year,and the NJ.Com Super Essex Conference Girls Coach of the Year.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Kyalo Mulumba, Public Information Officer
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders
973-621-4452 (phone) 973-621-5695 (fax)