Brendan W. Gill
Wayne L. Richardson
Commissioner President
Patricia Sebold
Commissioner At-Large
Rufus I. Johnson
Commissioner At-Large
Romaine Graham
Robert Mercado
Commissioner District 1
Tyshammie L. Cooper
Commissioner District 3
Leonard M. Luciano
Commissioner District 4
Carlos M. Pomares
Commissioner Vice President District 5
Deborah Davis Ford
Clerk of the Board of County Commissioners

Commissioners President, District 2

Wayne L. Richardson

Phone: 973-621-6457
Fax: 973-621-5695
Room: 504

WAYNE L. RICHARDSON of Newark was elected to his first term as District 2 Freeholder in November of 2014 and re-elected in November 2017. In January 2018, he was elected Vice President of the Board and re-elected in 2019. He grew up in Newark, graduated from Barringer High School, and served as a District Leader and Assistant Ward Chairperson in Newark’s North Ward in the 1980’s. Freeholder Richardson worked as a business agent for Laborers Local 108 and later served as an organizer for the Laborers Eastern Region Organizing Fund (LEROF). He serves as President of Laborers Local 55, and in 2014, he was promoted to Lead Organizer, representing an area that includes New Jersey, Delaware, New York City, and Long Island. In 2008, he earned a certification from the Mid-West Academy for Social Organizing in Chicago, and in 2014, he completed Cornell University’s Union Leadership Institute’s Advanced Labor Union Leadership Certification. In 2010, Freeholder Richardson was appointed to the Newark Central Planning Board, and in 2014, he was reappointed and elected Chairman. In 2017, he became the State Democratic Committee’s Sergeant-At-Arms. Freeholder Richardson is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Newark NAACP Freedom Fund’s Donald M. Payne, Sr., Political Action Award (2013), the Citizens’ Campaign’s Jersey Call to Service Award (2010), and the African-American Heritage Parade’s Labor Heritage Award (2014). He has trained youth orators in the Stand and Deliver Program and served for many years as a judge for Newark’s high school speech and debate teams, judging local, regional, and national competitions.